The Gift of Fall…in Spring

There’s something about fall colours. They’re so warm and inviting…just what I want the quilts that I sew to be. So when I saw this line called Maple Island by Holly Taylor, I saw a cozy quilt. And…since the colours worked in both my mother in law’s and my mom’s home…a mother’s day gift it was!

Here’s the quilt that I sewed for my mother in law. I thought it would be a nice quilt to cozy up by their wood stove either at home or at the cottage. My inspiration came from here although I made a few tweaks here and there to make it my own.
SAM_0289

I had to laugh when taking these pictures because I have beautiful spring blossoms everywhere in my flower bed that didn’t seem to go with the warm tones of an autumn quilt.

Here’s a close up of the quilting…I went with straight line quilting for the majority of the quilt and I pulled out a leaf stencil for the top and bottom of the quilt.

SAM_0292

I traced and sewed a maple leaf onto a scrap of batting before appliqueing it to the actual quilt. I love how they stand out more because of the extra layer of batting and give it a little more dimension.

SAM_0297

Leave a Reply

