Star Table Topper

Happy belated Mother’s Day! My day was filled with so much love from my three little boys and husband. Since our boys are still too young to understand the concept of Mother’s Day (our oldest is going to be 4 in June), my husband went out of his way to make it extra special for me. We spent the day like we do every Sunday…going to church and spending time with family…but it still felt like a day filled with love and dedicated to Mom. I have so much love for my boys and truly feel so blessed to be called their mother!

SAM_0319

We, as a family, are also so blessed to have such wonderful Moms that support us. My Mom and Mother-in-law are always ready to watch the boys at the drop of a hat and since they both live so close, it happens quite regularly!

Since I had made a king sized quilt for my Mom and Dad’s bed already, I made a simple table topper for their living room table instead of a full sized quilt like the one I made for my Mother-in-law.

SAM_0294

I used all the leftover charm squares from my Mother-in-law’s quilt for this table topper. I really love when I can use up what I have and still end up with something pretty substantial. I forgot to get the finished dimensions of it but it’s approximately 25 inches square. The actual star came from this idea here and I liked it so much I might try making a quilt with different fabric sometime later on down the road.

SAM_0295

The quilting was really fun to do on this table topper as well. I stitched Maple leaves on the corners  and simple vine-like leaves along the outside border. In the center of the star, I stitched another Maple leaf as well just for added interest.

SAM_0304SAM_0296

And because I couldn’t resist showing you what it really is like when Mom wants to get the sewing done…here’s a peak into my sewing space/dining room table.

SAM_0275

Leave a Reply

